GreaterNewburyportChamber_2016
 38R Merrimac Street, Newburyport, MA  01950  |  978.462.6680  |  info@newburyportchamber.org


  • Boardwalk-Logo2016
  • BartletMall-Logo2016
  • BartletMall_fall-Logo2016
  • Harbor-Logo2016
  • InnStreet-Logo2016
  • MarketSquare-Logo2016
  • MarketSquare2-Logo2016
  • PlumIslandBeach-Logo2016
  • RoofTops-Logo2016
  • WelcomeSign-Logo2016

Stories Carved in Stone at the Museum of Old Newbury

  • Share:
November 06, 2017
 
 
Stories Carved in Stone at the Museum of Old Newbury

Newburyport, MA – November 6, 2017: On Thursday, November 16, the Museum of Old Newbury will host local authors James and Mary Gage for a fascinating evening focusing on a collection of nine carved stones dating from 1645-1733.  The program will take place in the museum’s Benjamin Lecture Hall, beginning with a reception at 6:30pm and program at 7:00.  The event is free and open to the public.
 
The milestones, doorstones, and walkway stones featured in the Gages’ presentation were found within old Newbury and stand out for their prolific carved decorative designs, ranging from highly abstract geometric patterns to human figures.  The use of decorative art designs on such stones is isolated to the town of Newbury, raising a profound question: What unusual historical circumstances in Newbury prompted the creation of these nine uniquely carved stones?
 
Mary and Jim Gage's research uncovered the complicated and intriguing history behind these stones, and chronicled their connection to three generations of Newbury's leading family: the Dummers.  The stones are the work of seven different carvers, of whom five are known by name, and the events that they commemorate span the first century of Newbury's history.  These rare carved stones have fascinating stories to tell! 
 
To make a reservation (recommended due to limited seating) for “Stories Carved in Stone” or for more information, contact the Museum of Old Newbury at 978-462-2681 or email info@newburyhistory.org.  The museum is located at 98 High Street in Newburyport.  This program is sponsored in part by the Institution for Savings.
 
 
 
--
EMILY SHAFER
Assistant Director
Museum of Old Newbury
98 High Street
Newburyport, MA 01950
www.NewburyHistory.org
978-462-2681